Our Board

lesley van schoubroeck

Dr Lesley van Schoubroeck

Lesley is well known in the mental health sector. Lesley was the inaugural Mental Health Commissioner in Queensland. She has also held the position of Executive Director Transformation for the Mental Health Commission in Western Australia.

John MacIsaac
Deputy Chair

John has worked as a consulting engineer for over 30 years in the minerals industry. He has participated and volunteered in the GROW program in various roles since 2006 and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Sonia Di Mezza HS

Sonia Di Mezza

Sonia is a solicitor and human rights lawyer. She is the CEO of the Loddon Campaspe Multicultural Services in Bendigo, Victoria, supporting refugees and migrants with settlement services. She has set up and managed human rights projects in Pakistan and Sudan; worked as a Resettlement Consultant for the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees in Lebanon; worked in India promoting the rights of child labourers; and as a Refugee Lawyer in Australia. Sonia holds a Master of International Law, majoring in human rights law.

Heath Fereday HS

Heath Fereday

Heath has over 10 years of experience in working with the Grow Program and more than 7 years of experience in Program and Consumer Leadership Roles within GROW. Heath is the Chair of the South Australian Branch Program Team (elected peer leaders), a member of the National Program Team and is an active member of the GROW Community and was nominated to the Board by his peers.

Jeremy Morse HS

Jeremy Morse

Jeremy is a Business Performance Analyst at Anglicare Southern Qld. He was the Financial Accountant and Analyst for Anglicare Tasmania, and during the NDIS trial period, he oversaw the transition of contracts into funding under the NDIS.

Ina Mullin HS

Ina Mullin

Ina has over 20 years’ experience in stakeholder engagement and communication. She is Director of Engagement & Communication at the National Mental Health Commission after holding business development, brand management and public relations roles at a variety of NFP mental health service providers. Ina holds a Master of Arts in Communications Management, an Executive Master of Business Administration and a Bachelor of Arts (Hons).

Steve Ryan HS

Steve Ryan

Steve has had extensive exposure across the public, superannuation, union and not-for-profit sectors. He has held roles as a secondary school teacher, Queensland Teachers’ Union President, a Trustee of the QSuper Board, and a director of QInvest.

Virginia Slaughter HS

Virginia Slaughter

Virginia is Professor and Head of the School of Psychology at the University of Queensland. A developmental psychologist by training, Virginia’s own research focuses on social and cognitive development in infants and young children. In her 25-year career as an academic, Virginia has published over 100 peer-reviewed articles and chapters, three edited volumes and a first-year Psychology textbook. She is the recipient of several teaching awards, including the University of Queensland Teaching Excellence Award (1999) and an Australian Award for University Teaching (in the category Teaching Large First Year Classes; 2005). Virginia is a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia.

Mark Lacey

Mark is a mental health professional with twenty-four years’ experience. He has fought for the recovery of those with mental illness and for systems that routinely provide for that recovery over that time. Mark is commencing a Masters of Philosophy in the field of moral theology in 2022. Mark has been a Grow member for twenty-two years, a leader in Grow for fifteen years, and Chair of the Vic-Tas Branch Program Team for four years – from 2017 to 2020. Mark is a foundation member and current chair of the Insights Mental Health Group Ballarat. Mark brings to Grow his experience in facilitating recovery; in reforming systems so that they promote recovery; and basic skills in IT management, financial and legislative compliance & leadership of a team.

David Butt

David is the National CEO of GROW and works with the Board to guide the performance and development of GROW.